The Maaori King movement or Kiingitanga emerged following colonisation; to unite the people, protect the land and stop warfare. It was believed that unifying the people under one sovereign would achieve this. Many Maaori were impressed by the model of the British monarchy and after much discussion among the chiefs of the time Pootatau Te Wherowhero became the first Maaori King in 1858. The Kiingitanga has continued to address Maaori concerns since then and is one of Aotearoa’s most enduring political institutions.


Kiingi Pootatau Te Wherowhero (1858 - 1860)

Kiingi Taawhiao (1860 - 1894)

Kiingi Mahuta (1894 - 1912)

Kiingi Te Rata (1912 - 1933)

Kiingi Koroki (1933 - 1966)

Kuiini Te Atairangikaahu (1966 - 2006)

Kiingi Tuheitia (2006 - present)